Sziget Festival 2015 – Music 1/2

I’ve decided to continue writing in english. You will find some mistakes and I’m sorry for that.

For the second year, I went to Sziget Festival in Budapest. This time, we entered the island on saturday and I had 4 lebanese friends with me. We stayed with Camp Unknown. If you want to know more about Sziget, you can refer to some of my previous posts about the festival. I will write differently this time: not by day but by theme. I’m starting with music. Overall, the lineup isn’t as good as last year’s (especially the DJ’s on the main stage: you can’t fight with both Skrillex and Deadmau5!) and Sziget missed some big bands touring (Muse, Foo Fighters) but the music was excellent with 1 or 2 deceptions and lots of bands I’ve missed.

Kasabian (20/20)

Amazing! Exactly like I expected it! Their setlist was very good with my favorite songs (starting hard with Bumblebee while we were still at the camp, I couldn’t wait for my friends and just ran back and forth to catch as much as possible). When we finally arrive, at the 3rd song, they played 4 of my favorites in a row!! Underdog, Days Are Forgotten, Eez-Eh and Club Foot (every FIFA fan must know this one). Just before this last one, Sergio Pizzorno started to repeat moshpit…moshpit….mooooshpit! That’s the moment Rade and I decided to jump in! It was the beginning of the best moshpit I ever had! We stayed in for a few songs, relaxed when we wanted to (I’ll come back later on the moshpits) until « Empire« , « Stevie » and « FIRE« !!!!!!!! The highlight of my festival was singing this song in the moshpit. Imagine yourself at the concert of one of your favorite bands, they start playing your favorite song, you’re in the moshpit, the sun has set and the lights are amazing… Like every great song, Fire has had its extended version! Before the last « drop », Pizzorno, again, starts yelling « Let’s go, let’s go, let’s go fucking mental! Let’s go, let’s go, let’s go fucking mental »… many times before it explodes into a last « I’m on fiiiiiiiiiiiire »! You can find the video here but they focused too much on the singer, we don’t feel the same atmosphere in the crowd (you can catch a glimpse of when we are jumping and shouting!)

pentek51- pizzo

Anyway! 2 more songs and they end beautifully with L.S.F. (Lost Souls Forever). I wouldn’t have changed anything (well, except for an Oasis cover or for flares in the crowd).

Infected Mushroom (19)

Pure madness!  If you just wanted to enjoy some music, the A-38 wasn’t the place to be. Rade, Taj and I didn’t know this at the beginning of the concert (they didn’t play Converting Vegetarians for example) but decided to give it a chance when Imad and Makke left. When you put in your head that this is how it’s gonna be (mosh, mosh and moshpit!!!) then you will have the time of your life! If you are afraid to get hurt or to fall or if you are claustrophobic, then it wasn’t the place for you. It was my first big moshpit and I’ve enjoyed every second of it. You must understand that it’s not violence. There are rules in the moshpits.
The best moment was toward the end when they played Where Do I Belong. I just love reggae-dubstep mixes 🙂 I couldn’t find the video of it but here’s an audio of this moment!

Photo by Hussein Makke.
Photo by Hussein Makke.

Awolnation (19)

The context is very important to understand why this concert was one of the most amazing! It was a very hot day and it was Taj’s birthday. After giving her the cake and eating it with Camp Unknown, we went to the main stage and saw a firetruck spreading water to refresh people. Rade, Taj, Imad and I didn’t think twice and jumped under the water. Awolnation had already start playing and we were there, next to the main stage, jumping and dancing in the mud. Suddenly, a spiral rainbow appears and it makes the moment more special. After some minutes, they stop and we head to the concert to enjoy the last songs including Jump on my shoulders and Sail.

11892066_10210986466880471_956445080628070843_n
Amazing picture by Andrea Vincze (instagram:wynne0522).

Alt-JFoalsFlorence and the Machine (18)

Alt-J were a highlight. I really love their music, both the albums and they delivered properly when it comes to music. But not only that. They also had an amazing light show and their setlist was really good. From Taro to Breezeblocks all through Matilda, all the hits were sang.

Foals was also special for me because they are relatively unknown. Spanish Sahara was one of the best moment of the week, and the moshpit on the last 3 songs were amazing; not too violent but with enough energy provided by songs like Inhaler and What Went Down. During Mountain at my Gates, the crowd kept singing when there was a powercut. Setlist.

Florence was a highly expected act and she delivered a great show. When I didn’t know the song, her voice was enough to make me happy. Dog Days Are Over was the perfect ending for an amazing concert! She also covered You’ve Got The Love. It was good to have a Glastonbury headliner play the Day 0.

Photo: László Mudra - Rockstar Photographers - http://www.facebook.com/festivalphotographers
Photo: László Mudra – Rockstar Photographers – http://www.facebook.com/festivalphotographers

Major LazerTesco Disco – Kings of Leon (18)

I was expecting a good concert with Major Lazer and I wasn’t disappointed. They played all their hits (Lean On, Bumaye, Powerfull) as well as great reggae remixes and songs (Blaze Up The Fire!). Diplo is really entertaining and he went in the crowd in a giant bubble. Only problem is when they remix too soon a beautiful song (Get Free) but it’s okay!

I had talked with the DJ behind Tesco Disco on facebook before leaving Beirut and he explained to me his project (I couldn’t find a wiki page or something). He plays mostly indie songs with some electronic. It was on the VOLT Petofi stage. I brought the guys (Rade stayed sleeping on the grass) and we went to see him. The lights were beautiful but the music was just awesome! The first song we recognized was Mr Brightside by The Killers. Then many Arctic Monkeys, Foals, Green Day… until one of the best moment of the week: Midnight City by M83 (Apparenty I’m dumb enough to make an M83 tattoo!). We left at the mid-concert to go see Dixon.

Saturday night we were pretty exhausted after Major Lazer, so we decided to watch Kings of Leon from the back, sitting. It was very chill, especially with this kind of music. We discovered a whole new world with people sitting under decorated trees and watching the screens. The lights were very beautiful and in the end we we in the crowd to sing and dance for Use Somebody and Sex On Fire. Pyro was beautiful with the visuals they put on the screens, and during Cold Desert they asked the crowd to use their phones to light up the place. Setlist.

photo: [ Sandor Csudai ] . www.facebook.com/csudaisandor
photo: [ Sandor Csudai ] . http://www.facebook.com/csudaisandor
All the pictures belong to Sziget Festival Official unless specified.

Une réflexion sur “Sziget Festival 2015 – Music 1/2

Laisser un commentaire